What’s In Gluten Free Bread?

what is gluten free bread made of


When you go gluten free you become consumed with the fear that you may inadvertently eat something containing gluten. It is so important to read and understand the ingredient list. You may also find it interesting to learn the different ingredients that are used to make your favorite gluten free foods.

Since I love a good sandwich, let’s start with gluten free bread. So what is gluten free bread made of? The ingredients used to make gluten free bread will vary from brand to brand, and even from product to product within a brand. Typically rice or quinoa flour is used in place of traditional wheat flour. Some brands and products add things like sunflower seeds, flax seeds or honey to change the taste and texture.

Gluten free bread is nothing like your typical wonder bread. I definitely do not miss when eating wonder bread would cause painful bloating and discomfort. Before going gluten free eating a sandwich or even simple toast would cause my stomach to inflate like a balloon. Now when I eat toast or sandwiches made with gluten free bread I don’t have those same feelings of discomfort.

Gluten-free bread usually replaces wheat, rye and barley with cornstarch, rice flour, tapioca starch and potato flour.

I’ve tried many different gluten free breads but my first choice is Schar. Schar makes the best gluten free bread I. My opinion. Schar gluten free is wheat free, non gmo, dairy free, preservative free, and of course, gluten free. Schar gluten free bread comes in a vacuumed sealed package. Once opened, it needs to be stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Since the texture can be a bit dense at first, I suggest that you toast before consuming.

If you’d enjoy baking your own bread from scratch, here is a gluten free bread recipe for you to try. Share your thoughts in the comment section below.